Scholarship Presentation

Meet the 2020 scholarship winners!

2020 Scholarship Recipients

Rachel Gail White

Meredith Bowen

Congratulations to Rachel Gail White of Burleson and Meredith Bowden of Grandview as JCRW’s first and second place winners of the Polly Guthrie Memorial Scholarship. Rachel is graduating from Burleson Centennial High School (CHS) and will receive a $2,500 scholarship to Texas A&M University. Meredith is graduating from Grandview High School (GHS) and will receive a $1,500 scholarship she will use to attend The University of Texas at Austin.
The daughter of Mike and Trisha White of Burleson, Rachel plans to study animal science/science option with plans to become a Doctor of Dental Surgery. Throughout her secondary education Rachel has been actively involved in 4-H having been named outstanding agricultural student for 2017-2018 and 2018-2019. She has been a three-year member of the National Honor Society and 2020 Class Representative to the CHS Student Council.

“Obtaining this scholarship will help me tremendously with the financial burden of college. When I make the transition into the workforce, the less debt I have from attending the university, the sooner I will be able to take part in civic activities and become a productive member of society. I will be able to give back to the youth of my community due to les financial concern associated with repaying my student loans,” Rachel noted.

Meredith is the daughter of Rena and Darren Bowden of Waxahachie. Meredith graduated from Grandview High School where her mother is a teacher. She earned the distinction of being named Salutatorian of her graduating class. She plans to pursue a double major in radio/TV/film and advertising. While at GHS she was active in band and journalism. She received numerous state-wide awards in headline, news and editorial writing in addition to being named all-state band clarinetist from 2017-2020, Texas UIL wind ensemble festival most outstanding performer in 2019. She served as president of the Student Council and National Honor Society and was named 2020 Student of the Year by the Grandview Chamber of Commerce.

Upon receiving the scholarship, Meredith said, “I am more than honored to be one of the recipients of this scholarship. With the uncertainty of my academic future due to COVID, I am pleased and more than happy to know I will be able to focus more on my studies and exemplifying conservatism on campus and worry less about my financial needs this fall.”

Contribute to the scholarship fund